top of page
District Map_edited.jpg

Þórshof District encompasses Connecticut, Delaware, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Europe.

What is a Hof District?

A Hof district is the state assigned to a specific Hof.  On the map to the left, you will see a portion covered in orange.  These are the states that are within Þórshof District.

Within each district, we have Folkbuilders and our Gothar.  These are the people you would reach out to for inquiries on what is going on within your district as well as inquiries about membership with the Asatru Folk Assembly.

Below you will find our leadership within Þórshof District and how you can contact them.

Alsherjargothi

The mission of our Leadership is to rally the Men and Women of our Folk, the Sons and Daughters of Europe in Midgard, to come together for our common spirituality and purpose. We do so in a manner that is confident and noble. The Asatru Folk Assembly is constantly evolving while maintaining continuity in leadership.
 

One of the most significant moments in Asatru Folk Assembly history was the passing of the duties and responsibilities of Alsherjargothi from Stephen McNallen to Matthew Flavel. The role of Alsherjargothi, Old Norse for “Chieftain of All the People,” demands leading those who make up the Asatru Folk Assembly as well as tending to the spiritual needs of our Folk and looking out for their interests.

mattflavel.png
Alsherjargothi Matthew Flavel
Nevada
Mattflavel@runestone.org
Goðar

Goðar of the Asatru Folk Assembly the religious leaders of our Folk. The position of Gothi or Gythia is one of leadership and service to our church. They inherently bear many responsibilities, such as leading marriage ceremonies, funerary rites, naming ceremonies, land takings, coming of age rites, and other rituals for our community.  The Goðar also organize Asatru Folk Assembly and community events, assist with the formation of new kindreds, provide counseling services, and educate those not familiar with our tradition. The Goðar often engages in many other forms of public service that are generally expected of Clergy in this day and age. This is not an easy responsibility, but it is an honorable path. All Asatru Folk Assembly Goðar, recognized as Ordained Clergy, carry weight in most states and regions, having legal rights and legal recognition for ceremonies performed and services rendered to their community due to the direct support and association with the AFA, which is a religious, non-profit organization.

cerickson.png
sherul.png
dyoung.jpg
cm.erickson.png

Witan Clifford Erickson

Pennsylvania

Cerickson@runestone.org

Witan Svan Herul

Virginia

Sherul@runestone.org

Witan Daniel Young

South Carolina

Dyoung@runestone.org

Gythia Catie Erickson

Pennsylvania

Cm.erickson@runestone.org

Folkbuilders

In the AFA, our greatest priority is our members’ needs. We go to great lengths to ensure that we are not just an online phenomenon where all our leaders are on the other side of the country. We prioritize REAL LIFE interaction between our membership and our leaders and ultimately our greatest goal is building REAL LIFE Folkish community’s of like-minded people, honoring our Gods, and building our Folk. Folk builders are the face of the Asatru Folk Assembly in the different regions of the world and the local leadership of these communities. These men and women have stepped up to make a difference and not only do the tasks people see, like throwing events and interacting with membership but also are busy behind the scenes doing things like membership, online management, and helping shape the AFA.

Folkbuilder Heather Young

South Carolina

Hyoung@runestone.org

CookPatrick.jpg

Folkbuilder Patrick Cook

West Virginia

Pcook@runestone.org

nrice.png

Folkbuilder Nicholas Rice

Tennessee

Nrice@runestone.org

Folkbuilder Joe Drotos

Ohio

Jdrotos@runestone.org

jrock.png

Folkbuilder Jonathan Rock

Indiana

Jrock@runestone.org

Folkbuilder Michael Melillo

Ohio

Mmelillo@runestone.org

img.jpg

Folkbuilder Robert Shotwell

North Carolina
Rshotwell@runestone.org

tbethea.jpg

Folkbuilder Tyler Bethea

North Carolina
Tbethea@runestone.org

tylersagert_edited.jpg

Folkbuilder Tyler Sagert

New Hampshire
Tsagert@runestone.org

Apprentices

Apprentice Erik Lugnet

Sweden

Elugnet@runestone.org

jcroft.jpg

Apprentice Jaeger Croft

North Carolina

Jcroft@runestone.org

jrutledge.jpg

Apprentice Jacob Rutledge

Indiana

Jrutledge@runestone.org

rboardman.png

Apprentice Ronald Boardman

New Hampshire

Rboardman@runestone.org

bottom of page